Sergio Garcia DQ'd from Saudi event for "serious misconduct"
 

Sergio Garcia DQ'd from Saudi event for "serious misconduct"

02/02/2019
Metro Golf Notes Associated Press
image (Metro Golf Magazines File Photo)
After damaging greens at the Saudi International in frustration, Sergio Garcia was disqualified from the European Tour event for "serious misconduct."

KING ABDULLAH ECONOMIC CITY, Saudi Arabia (AP) — Sergio Garcia was disqualified from the Saudi International tournament on Saturday for damaging two greens in frustration during his third round, and the Spaniard said he has apologized to fellow players for his actions.

The European Tour released a statement after Garcia finished his round, in which he shot a 1-over 71, and said the former Masters champion had been disqualified for "serious misconduct."

Garcia said "in frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologize for, and I have informed my fellow players it will never happen again."It wasn't immediately clear what the extent of the damage was, and on which greens it took place.

Garcia became the first player on the European Tour to be disqualified under Rule 1.2a, which reads "players are expected to play in the spirit of the game by acting with integrity, showing consideration to others and taking good care of the course.”

This isn’t the first time Garcia has let his temper get the better of him. In his first appearance in the World Match Play Championship at Wentworth in England, he threw a shoe in frustration on the 16th tee. In the 2007 CA World Championship, he earned harsh criticism for spitting into the cup after missing a short putt on the 13th hole at Doral.

 
 
 
 
 
Comments & Ratings
rating
  Comments

There is no comment.

Your Name
Email
Website
Title
Comment
CAPTCHA image
Enter the code
 
Copyright © 2018 Metrolina Golf Magazine

About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Advertise  |  Sitemap  |